Can't taste custards!

I don’t know if there’s a “fix” for this issue but it’s the darnedest thing.

I’ve been mixing full-force for a few months now, running through trials of edits of found recipes, steeping, keeping great notes, zeroing in on edits of favorites in larger batches. It’s fun and I feel really good about where I’ve gotten with this so far. But I seem to be experiencing a horrible issue. It seems like I can hardly taste custards at all. Custards, creams, cheesecakes. No I haven’t run any single-flavor tests but in so many of my mixes I have notes like “@32 days - same old story - There’s something there but weak as hell.”

I’m in the habit of boosting total flavor to 16% to 20%, normally boosting creams/custards to get to the higher percentage. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve got my favorite mixes. As if sometimes creams/custards are working ok as supporting players. But where they need to be the star, I taste almost nothing. For example, I’ve boosted my version of Kreed’s Kustard to 19% and it’s all about cheesecake and Cap Vanilla Custard. Duh. How can you go wrong? And it’s ridiculously bland.

I smoked cigarettes my entire adult life, I quit 3 months ago. I’m mixing everything at 55/45 PG/VG. If your answer is “cheap nicotine,” could an ever-so-slightly impure nic create that much of a problem? I’m at wit’s end, and the only thing I can think of is that my sense of taste is flawed. Any thoughts at all? Thanks much.

3 Likes

Increasing the flavour percentage won’t necessarily increase the flavour you taste, in fact it can work quite opposite and start to mute the flavour instead. There is sort of a peak % of each flavour where it will taste strongest, and above that it is all downhill.

Another thing is that if you only stopped smoking 3 months ago, then you taste buds will most likely not be fully recovered yet, it might take you another couple of months before you can fully taste all the flavours.