Ethyl Maltol 10% and/ or Sweeteners and coil gunking

I’ve been mixing my own DIY juices for the last 6 months or so. I have learned a lot since joining this lovely community, but I still have a lot to learn.
I love browsing thru the recipes and seeing all the different juices people make. I see a lot of recipes even on other sites that have really high %'s of Ethyl Maltol / Cotton Candy, Sucralose / Sweetener, Super Sweet. So my question is, do high percentages (2+%) of these cause coils to gunk up? Specifically Ethyl Maltol and Sweetener?. Does it vary by brand? Is there a percentage that seems to be a good stopping point before it causes coil gunking?
I try to stay on very low %'s of my sweeteners for fear of the dreaded coil gunking, but I also know that there are some of my recipes that could and would probably benefit from a bit higher percentage of some form of the sweetener.
Any and all advice, opinion, personal experience is greatly appreciated. Thank You all in advance.

2 Likes

I try to avoid ethyl maltol and maltol because of their muting effects on flavors… but I’ve used them and my experience is that it gunks up your coils a lot less than sucralose. TPA Sweetener is a mix of sucralose and maltol. TPA Cotton Candy is just EM (10%). I can’t tell you much about stevia, I hear it’s pretty decent with fruity flavors but I have no idea how it is with your coils.

If you’ve been vaping DIY juices for about 6 months now, I’m pretty sure that you really don’t need all that added sweetener and if you do need it, it may be a better idea to get it from marshmallow, meringue, sweet cream, strawberry ripe and flavors like that.

TPA is the only manufacturer that really specifies which components are used in their flavors, so it’s hard to say which other brands gunk up your coils except for by trial and error. Going through the flavor notes will usually give you a lot of info about it though.