Gear Heads Only

I have thought about doing this for a good while now.

I spent the first half of my working career as a mechanic of some type.

First in the US Navy for 6 years as a jet engine mechanic.

After the Navy then in car dealerships and later working on heavy equipment.

While working as a heavy equipment mechanic I was also fortunate enough to work at a company that the owner had some Pro Bracket racing cars that him and one of his sons drove. Those cars were in the 6 second range on the 1/4 mile drag strip.

All of that out of the way I am no stranger to SPEED. I have turned wrenches on, owned and driven some very fast cars in my days.

So my reason for starting this thread is, I figured it would be nice for us gear heads to have a place to post our experiences, stories, pictures or related videos about all things gear head related.

I decided to go ahead and kick this off after watching this video this morning.

10 Likes

To kick off a picture post.

By far the favorite car I ever owned. Not because it was super fast or because I built it my self from the ground up but this was a very rare beast.

A true sleeper… It looked like the average Monte of the day but the drive train and engine that came in this from the factory were special ordered. I had the factory run sheet on this car with the codes for every component that went in it.

1970 Monte Carlo

350 ci 300hp 4 bolt main motor

Muncie m22 4 speed manual transmission

3:73 posi rear

The manual transmission was not a normally available option. Monte’s were normally all automatic transmissions.

In the early 1980"s I won a bet with a Chevrolet parts manager over this option and he paid up when I showed him the car and it’s factory run sheet.

The shifter was having issues and I went to see about getting parts for it. He told me they never put a manual trans in a Monte Carlo.