Hemp Wicking Tutorial

I was thinking I might write a little tutorial on how to wick with hemp. I’ve been using it for a few months and I think it is superior, probably due to the very long, stright fibers, but it has some quirks. If there is interest I will write something up and illustrate a couple of builds. Can I ask for folks to vote with the like button?

52 Likes

Don’t wait on a bunch of encouragement…just do it man! This is a worthwhile tutorial and I for one would be glad to see it. Down the road it could well be the reference for anyone looking to switch to hemp.

5 Likes

I agree, go ahead and write one out. I have some somewhere, ill dig it out and give it a go if you take the time to do a write up.

5 Likes

Oh and no tutorial would be complete without links to where we can get it at a good price :wink:

3 Likes

I would like to see this as well. I have tried hemp and found it very hard to work with in comparison the cotton but not sure I did it right.

1 Like

I’m right there with you…I have some and my lone attempt, the loose fibers charred and scared me off…I would love to give it another go!
C’mon, brother! Lets get it!

2 Likes

I agree with everyone here. I’m just getting into building coils and I would like all the information I can get on the materials available to work with.

2 Likes

Wow, I had always kinda felt that there wasn’t much interest. I’ll try and get something up tomorrow. It’s not often that I can contribute here.

It is much stiffer dry, but once it is soaked it’s nearly as supple as cotton. Its nowhere near as fluffy, which also makes it real finicky in certain tanks/builds. It’s a no-brainer for RDAS, though and the lifetime of the wick is very long, at least for me.

3 Likes

The dry-hits are much smoother!

2 Likes