My GPRIV 220 Mod Exploded!

Hi everyone, i have been vaping for more than 2 years. I bought a GPRIV 220 Mod, 2 Efest 18650 3000mah Batteries.
First i unpacked the mod and put the batteries, they were half charged. I tried only the mod (Without tanks)
Then i took the batteries and put them on the charger, until the became fully charged.
I inserted them into the mod again and i was having a 0.79OHM build (Vaping on 60 Watts).

within 3 minutes this happened !!!
I don’t know what to say !! and i can’t even understand what was wrong !!!

If anybody can tell me what is the mistake plzz !!! is it the batteries or the mod or the build !!!

2 Likes

I would hazard a guess that it was probably the batteries. Efest are known to not be the most dependable for all mod applications.
On a side note, I hope you did use an ohm meter to test your build before you put it on the mod. I’m pretty sure most of us who wind our own coils use one.

5 Likes

Yikes! From the pictures it looks like both batteries went into thermal run away. Did it actually “explode”? I see a lot of excess heat damage but I don’t see evidence of an explosion. As to cause, I have no idea. .79Ω certainly should not tax those batteries like that. From what I have found the G Prive has a max voltage of 10V. That would develop 12.66A max. I think the Efest batteries would keep up with that easily. This is bad news. If the anti’s get wind of this we will see it on Faux News and MSLSD by tomorrow.

Just found a post by Mouch and if they were “purple” they should have been capable of 20A continuous.

@Flavologist may have it right, but I’m putting my money on the mod from your description. If the mod read 0.79Ω, and it was an Eleaf “purple” the mod had to either short internally or grossly misread the resistance. Even if it misread the resistance an overtemp circuit or excessive current draw circuit should have shut the mod down before that happened.

4 Likes