Noob Question - Testing Mixes

I am new to creating my own e-juice flavors and relatively new to the vaping community. When I mix a new recipe, I want to test it before mixing larger amounts. Currently I use sub-ohm tanks to vape with. In order to test a new flavor, would you recommend a RDA (dripper) for this or something else?

Any recommendations are appreciated.

G-Daddy

5 Likes

Hey G-daddy! Yes, I personally like using rdas to test my mixes. They’re easier and faster to rewick than tanks (in general). I don’t have a very extensive collection of rdas, but I love using my wismec indie duo for nice full flavor testing (they can be purchased for super cheap too, here’s one for $5: https://eciggity.com/inde-duo-rda-by-jaybo-design-wismec/ ) and my Hadaly with lower watts (for me lower watts = 40-75ish) and a higher ohm coil (for me higher ohms = .3-.5) for super quick rewicking (since its a single coil rda) when I’m testing multiple new mixes in a row.

4 Likes

Also, welcome to ELR!! :tada:

4 Likes

yes a small simple single coil rda is great for testing but u can skip to the chase and get a decent dual since once u start using an rda, you will forget u have a sub ohm tank :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

yes, welcome!

3 Likes

These are separate questions/issues IMO/IME.

For testing a flavor, yes, a well-designed rda will maximize the various notes in a flavor (lead note vs side notes).

For testing a recipe, you should probably test it in one of the categories your targeting. IE: MTL user, or DL flavor chaser (tanks frequently perform differently than RDA’s though, hence the need for possible adjustments to the recipe).

MTL users don’t take in nearly as much vapor, so it seems logical that they may need more flavoring to achieve a satisfactory experience. In addition, the amount of nicotine is higher typically, and in some cases may affect things as well (throat hit may need to be accounted for).

3 Likes