Please help me with Nic issues?

Let me start by saying I’ve been mixing for about 2 years and now all of a sudden my mixes taste muted with an aftertaste similar to earth & cig butts? I’ve ruled out VG, PG. I have tried several different Nic vendors and have the same effect. There is no way all these nics can be a “bad batch” one of my ADV is 3rd world order’s “3rd world custard” (awesome recipe btw!!) All my mixes have this same effect now. Yes, I’ve tried ALL the nic vendors. Is there something else that can cause this or is anybody else out there struggling with finding quality nic lately? I appreciate any feedback, thank you all. Was thinking due to the increased demand for liquid nic, companies are using stems or going a cheaper rout to produce nic to keep up with the demand?? Just a thought.

1 Like

@BEAGLEPUNX Welcome to NIC HELL !!!

Kidding. I’ve had my fair share of minor NIC issues, and maybe can help. What brands have you tried, and more importantly HOW are you storing it ?

I like Nude NIC, and more recently @Nicotine_River’s NIC Select. Both are great. I keep ALL my NIC in the freezer, without exception. I buy bigger lots, and break it down to 60ml bottles and freeze all of them, opening only ONE for mixing and right back in the freezer. Do you do the same ? I know some people just leave their NIC sitting out at room temp, or in a cupboard, but I did not have good results when doing that. Amber glass should be a MUST IMO, and sealed tightly, as light and air causes faster oxidation which will lead to a peppery, off-tasting bunch of badness in your mixes.

5 Likes

My first thoughts align with what @SessionDrummer has already said so well. I also thought " I wonder how old that Cake Batter of his is ? " <<-- I had some yr old cake batter I had to throw out because it was ‘diluted’ and I got that ‘peppery’ aroma from it suddenly.

3 Likes