Preserving Partial Bottles of Liquid

Hey folks, newbie here. I don’t know if it has been posted anywhere OR if anyone has tried this method to keep oxygen out of the Nic bottles. But I am planning to do this.

When using the Nic, a void is created within the bottle. That void is filled with ambient air to include oxygen, an oxidizer of sorts. Well, I have an idea that as that void is created, I am going to add small glass marbles/beads to the bottle. Granted, it won’t completely remove any ambient air, BUT, it will make the “footprint” at the top of the bottle as small as it would be if the bottle was full.

Has anyone tried this? Is my thinking flawed? I mean, its a Glass bottle, so a Glass marble shouldn’t hurt anything. My wife says she saw some small glass beads/marbles at the craft store. Probably where I will get them…

Let me know what ya think.
RK

7 Likes

Good thinking! My concern is that nic solution needs to be shaken vigorously before and sometimes during a mixing session to avoid “hot spots.” If you’re not shaking the bottle, you could end up with a very high mg/ml strength nic in your mix.

8 Likes

And, welcome to ELR! Your out-of-the-box thinking will be a great asset here!

6 Likes

You could top it off with argon (i do it with nic bottles once I split large bottles down to smaller working bottles).

The marble would work as long as the neck of the bottle is big enough and you don’t shake too hard - wouldn’t want the bottle or the marble to chip or break.

Welcome aboard

9 Likes

Well, good point shaking or rolling with a marble(s) in the bottle may actually assist in the homogenizing. Of course, I wouldn’t go so aggressively to break the bottle. Just sayin’

RK

5 Likes

Very good, then! I was going off my experience, using 100% VG nic base… I have to be fairly aggressive.

5 Likes

True. Don’t shake too hard. But my biggest worry is chipping the marble or due to imperfections something breaking.