The banana runts molecule. (Flavor science)

The science of aromas is blowing my mind!!
Do yourself a favour and look up the science of food pairing. The reason certain foods go well together is because they share similar Flavor compounds. It’s no suprise pineapple and vanilla go together…but the reason is because both contain vanillin. Mind blown! A good book that uses this science is “the Flavor bible”. Almond extract smells a lot like cherries…guess why? They have similar aroma compounds. As a chef, I already know what flavours fit together. But now I know why. Science is cool.

11 Likes

Oh right…the link, lol

5 Likes

The Flavor Bible was up a lot earlier - here’s an older thread:

There are tons more - Flavor science is awesome :smiley:

8 Likes

It’s so interesting, I’ve been reading for about 3 days now…my wife is giving me dirty looks. Lol

5 Likes

Only one thing worth pairing with a banana and that is the bin. Nastiest food on the planet :fearful::cold_sweat::scream:

1 Like

Hey! Don’t mock bananas - even cats love 'em!

10 Likes

Don’t blame bananas, blame isoamyl acetate!

1 Like

I think as well as a huge dislike for the devils fruit, it is almost a phobia as well, I can’t touch them, watch anybody eat one or talk/think about them without a sickly, queasy feeling coming over me. I thought I was a bit weird, but evidently there are others out there, like me. who have a real problem with this fruit.

One of the reasons, I turned to mixing my own over 4 years ago. I knew what flavours were going into my liquids. Too many times I bought a pre made liquid and would convince myself rightly or wrongly, it contained banana and after doing my best over the top reaction, chucked it straight in the bin.

As for Underannes gif I don’t like cats either, So it is a double whammy for me that picture.

3 Likes

Oh, I’m sorry about the cat gif then… :pensive: Hope you’ll feel better soon.

I don’t know how common it is to pair bananas with cats either really…