Guitar Players - Need to Learn Some New Practice Routines

I have played Acoustic Guitar for 25 years. But I never got too serious about it. I basically just sat and played stuff I made up after learning a few chords. I never played with a pick either. I learned Travist D style fingerpicking, and I just strum with my fingernails. Every time I tried to play with a pick it was hard for me to do dead/muted strums, so I kinda gave up on the pick.

Now I have been playing Electric Guitar for a couple years or so. And I am finally using a pick. But I haven’t practiced as much as I should. And I haven’t really picked up any good practice routines. I started taking lessons a year and a half ago and was making pretty good progress. But after a few months I moved and had to stop taking lessons from that guy. Now I am working near that guitar shop so I think I am going to start lessons again really soon.

So those of you that have been playing awhile, how do you practice? And what do you practice? I like playing all kinds of music and I know I need to learn scales and stuff. You can listen to a few songs I have learned in my Dropbox. Just don’t laugh because I am terrible. But maybe it will give people some thoughts about what I should be practicing?

My Guitar Lesson Dropbox

3 Likes

Take a look at http://get.yousician.com/ for lessons. Not sure if it is still free but worth a peek. Also http://www.songsterr.com/ You can look up favorite artists/songs and jam along. I practice with my band 3 to 4 times a week so not so much anymore at home.

p.s. for more techy scales,sweeps etc look at these books http://www.guitargrimoire.com/

1 Like

nothing to laugh at. (no one should laugh at anyone learning anyway) Not bad. Good tone on the linkin track.What are you playing through?

1 Like