Making & Wrapping Coils

I got my coil master kit today! I also ordered some Clapton wire, which came today too. Can anyone share videos on wrapping coils again? Also is the ELR coil wrapping site fairly easy?

5 Likes

Here you go:
https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=coil+wrapping&&view=detail&mid=CA534B51DA22CDE47E13CA534B51DA22CDE47E13&FORM=VRDGAR

3 Likes
3 Likes

Thank you :blush:

If I were you, I’d also check youtube for a build tutorial specifically for the rba you’re using.
I only have experience with SS clapton wire and I find it’s VERY springy wire (unlike the fused clapton which I prefer).
When I put a coil on my atty with special wire (i.e. anything that is not regular straight wire), I put the leads in the atty and fasten the screws with the coil pressed against the posts. When the screws are tightened, I pull the coil back with the rod of the coil jig in the coil so that there’s enough spacing between to posts and the coil so you don’t get a short anywhere.
With regular straight wire, you don’t have that springiness, you you’ll have to allow that spacing from the posts before you tighten the screws. Make sure that for a dual coil configuration, both coils are made exactly the same and have the same spacing between the coil and the posts, otherwise you’re going to have 1 coil heating up more than another.

3 Likes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5Mj4QaPo0U

3 Likes

SS wire can be very springy and difficult in claptons specially if you’re working with high gauges. What I usually do is leave the entire finished wire intact and while it’s still on the drill, I go over it with a torch. This takes all the spring out of it and makes it easier to wrap without unraveling. Of course this takes away the shine, but who cares. Or you could buy your wire from Kidney Puncher as they sell it annealed and this helps it stay in place.

6 Likes

The first time I worked with it I said “F%^#!!! How in hell to get this right?”, but I learned how to work with it lol