Nicotine Salts Color

I have been mixing DIY for about 3 years. I just received my first order of nicotine salts. I also ordered freebase nic.

I ordered 32oz of freebase 100mg
And 8oz of Salts
So one of two things happened. Either they sent me 32 of salts and 8 of freebase. OR they switch the stickers on the bottles before sending them out.

Does anyone know how to tell?

Do salts get dark like freebase? Does one get darker faster?

Thanks in advance guys.

1 Like

My freebase as well as salt is clear. I store my nic in the freezer and keep a smaller bottle in the fridge since I use VG based nic and its a pain in the butt to get to room temperature.
Both still are clear even after months. What you can do is make a 2 or 5ml batch with your VG/pg or whatever you use, put salt in it and freebase in the other, let stand in light for a day or couple days, the bottle that changes it color will be the freebase or darker color if you put it in the sun.

Sorry only way I could tell you to test it. Salt doesn’t change in color or at least not within 24 hrs, since it seems to oxidize either slower or in a different way. Your mixes do stay clear most of the time as well you’ll notice that later.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply, basically what I currently have is an 8oz bottle of really dark nic and a 32oz bottle of almost clear.

The 8 oz should be the salt. That is what threw me off from opening the box. I am working on getting a picture.

Obviously the stickers on the bottles are wrong. But “what” is wrong is the question.

2 Likes

I would definitely contact the supplier, both don’t look the same as the nicotine I have gotten from NicotineRiver or NudeNicotine. either you clicked something wrong, or they may have made a mistake. You could get an educated guess by checking the PH of the 2 solutions, but the first step for me would be to contact that supplier.

4 Likes

I have contacted the supplier. I am awaiting a response to see what they say. Thank you for the reply.