Advice, tips n tricks

I’d planning on having a go at a Black Forest Gateau recipe. So far i’m thinking of using -
Double chocolate.
Cocoa.
Whipped cream.
Sweet cream.
Buttercream frosting.
Yellow cake.
Cherry.
Kirsch.
Any advice or knowledge from people into their cake/dessert recipes would be welcome as i’m new to DIY and this will be my first attempt at something ‘big’

1 Like

Cherry is a super tough flavour to cut your teeth on.

There are only a few worth having and maybe the best of them is inw cherries (not cherry make sure if you are buying it to get the plural). Flv chocolate deutch is a pretty complete rich chocolate mud cake with hints of coconut.

JIC you were looking to buy flavours for your project (if you don’t already have them)

6 Likes

Yes, flavour advice is something I need. Being new to the game any pointers on who does the best versions of the ingredients is most welcome.
I figured the cherry aspect would probably be the most difficult to get right.
Cheers.

2 Likes

Black Forest Cake Recipe :
Filling. ½ cup Kirsch (cherry liquor)** ½ cup unsalted butter. 3 cups confectionary (icing/powdered) sugar. ¼ cup espresso. …
Icing. 2 cups heavy whipping cream. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. 1/8 cup Kirsch. 2 tablespoons powdered milk. …
Toppings: ½ cup dark chocolate shavings. Handful of dark cherries. Sprinkle of icing sugar.

google
ELR

3 Likes

This will be a tough one. I tried finding the thread, but yes, it’s somewhere. The thread I’m think of had a lot of great ideas buried within. @woftam @Amy2 @Pro_Vapes @Ken_O_Where where did that thread get off to?

4 Likes

That’s pretty much what I want to replicate. I know what goes into an edible gateau, it’s the vapable version I need help with.

2 Likes

You mean this one?

6 Likes

https://e-aromashop.com/comestible-flavour-cherry-liqueur-10-ml-p-29.html

Some Cherry Liqueur will be good in that.

3 Likes

Splendid. I will have a read through. Thanks.

3 Likes