Am I the only one with custard problems?

I’ve been making juice for 4 months or so and have yet to make a custard recipe that is tolerable, let alone delicious. Custards were my favorites when I was buying juice. I realize they need to steep, and I’ve had a few that have been steeping for over 4 weeks. One is just over 8 weeks. No matter what I do they have a terrible chemical taste. I have these custard flavors:

Vanilla Custard TPA
Vanilla Custard v1 CAP

All the recipes I’ve tried were from this site and got decent ratings. Here is one:

I’m not sure what to do about it as I’m following the recipes perfectly, and I make sure there are plenty of positive comments.

Hey Frank, I’m certainly not the king of custards that would be @Ken_O_Where ( and where the heck he
s been is beyond me…probably storing bags of $$$ since he went off to make his own private label juices :smile: )

I would say look into trying a different vendor, I don’t really care for either one of those custards even though they get high ratings, I kinda like VC V2 by capella’s I used to like it more but am really off them outside of FA’s custard which is nothing like those custards it is more of a lemon custard and not anywhere as eggy and vanilla cream. I know it’s a bummer since you now have 2 you don’t particularly like but down the road revisit them and maybe they’ll grow on you. Most flavors I am on the fence about I tend to use as mixers ( not the main note of the recipe and way lower than the suggested ratio ) seems I get to justify using them and most of the time I end up liking them way below the standard ratios.

sorry for the long rant but custards are really tricky , I actually prefer newer recipes and not steeped custards so guess I am a weirdo compared to the norm :wink:

3 Likes

I am a lover of custards. Try this on for size: http://tjek.nu/r/11t5