Anyone do concrete work?

One of the things I have yet to do is lay a concrete slab…I am putting in a Hot Tub 85" x 85" I’m trying to confirm how thick I should make this slab…I want a 10’ x 10’ slab I am thinking 6" thick reinforced with a metal grid etc…Is 6" too much ??

5 Likes

I don’t do concrete work, but a 4" with mesh and 3200 psi would be fine. 6" will be better, but I don’t think required.

5 Likes

I do Concrete for a living. I agree with @SessionDrummer that 4" or 120mm is the standard. Thicker slabs are generally driven on like driveway crossings , bus pads etc.

8 Likes

Awesone ty @SessionDrummer and @mixologist13 sometines when I do something for the first time I tend to over do it…

6 Likes

Is there any products you would use over others ??

4 Likes

This probably just answers my question regarding Rebarb

4 Likes

Not sure what you mean by products. are you planning on hand mixing concrete bags!?? 10x10 feet is 3.048metres x 3.048metres x .10metre (4") equals 0.93 cubic metres of concrete. The minimum you can order is 1metre (yard at a time) here that will run you 250$ plus a small load charge of about the same so say 500$ . If you do bags it may be cheaper but also wayyy more labor involved…

5 Likes

Yes I will have to donit by hand bc I cant get a truck to the area where the patio is being done…By materials I meant a brand of concrete mix ? Something that may contain anti fracture or whatever …For example when inset tile I like to use Customs Flex Bond , instead of using hardibacker is prefer Denshield stuff like that

4 Likes

Strength is determined by water to cement ratio, and is tested by MPa(mega Pascal’s) basically the amount of pressure required to fracture the concrete. If you must hand mix I suggest renting a cement mixer to ensure you get a proper mix without to much water content. Too much water will weaken your slab and you will be there forever waiting for the water to “bleed” off

5 Likes