Cataloging a stone

I hate calling myself a beginner, as I’ve been at it for a couple years, but, my ego aside, I have a dumb beginner question…
OKAY I’M A BEGINNER!
I have a couple recipes that I consider “stones”, that I would like to use thusly; freshpies caramel sundae is one, hobbs vape, “old skewl custard”, and I have a 23 flavor vanilla that I just made, inspired by Darthvapor’s “the 18” which is a ridiculous vanilla custard combo that I heard is delicious…
Oh sorry heres the question:
How do I catalogue (or “name”) the stone, both in the massive catalogue here, and in the recipe itself?
I dont want to litter the site with a one-off flavor, or do I?

6 Likes

I searched the forums after posting this and found a topic “one shot questions”, and a reply by “sthrnmixer” who just leaves the “add flavor” as “flavor 1”, and enters the percentage in the recipe, then places down in the notes section a notation of what “flavor one” is.
Seems reasonable.
Is that the best method?

5 Likes

It’s not a beginner question, since I’d bet 90% of beginners don’t use stones (much less, know what they are unless they read the forums a lot). So you can still consider yourself ‘advanced’ (or whatever term makes you smile). chuckles :wink:

As for naming conventions with respect to ELR’s database…

I’ll refer you to the section of my post from 2018:

The preferred options for your situation (as described) would be: (Johnny’s Mix), (stone), (base).

Examples:
Johnny’s Chocolate (stone)
Chef J’s Ultra Berry (base)

As for the recipe portion, once you have created the above custom flavor entry, it will then be added to your flavor stash.

Anything that’s in your stash can easily be added to a recipe that you create.

As for others using (adapting) your recipe, they’ll also need to search for your unique stone, and add it to their stash. In order to see how to make it, assuming you want them to, you will have to make the recipe (for the stone) public.