Difference Between Base Notes and Top Notes

Hey everyone I wanted to get some information on base notes and top notes when flavor mixing, I’m still new to mixing. My question is, how do you achieve a base and how to achieve a top note? Is a top note just a simple flavor like Pineapple or strawberry, or is a based on a percentage? In example, would Pineapple be a top note if it’s percentage was only 1% in the mix while Pina Colada is 7% or would Pineapple need to be a higher percentage in the mix to really be shown as the top note in the mix?

Thanks!

Adam

2 Likes

I’m bad at wording my questions. I just want to know if a top note is based on specific flavors or if it’s based on which flavors have the higher percentages in the mixtures.

1 Like

More often than not your "base note " is going to be a flavor with higher %s. But that’s not always the case especially if you’re using a very strong flavor as your foundation that only needs a small %. When I think of a “top note” i think of a light layer that you taste more on the inhale. So for instance, let’s say you have a lemon cookie recipe. On the inhale you might taste the lemon right away (top note) and then as you exhale the crumbly graininess comes through more (base note). You might also have other flavors/additives that contribute to the base like cream, butter, AP, etc., and those will often have lower %s like the top note(s).

10 Likes

When I read the question I was thinking exactly as @VapeyMama was stating it… percentages do not really matter due to different perceptions the person vaping picks up on the flavors. I personally think of bases in the mindset of creams and custards and how the other things (flavorings) play with those creams and custards. But as you were pointing out in your original comment @Vape_Juice_Recipes it could be a Pina Colada type of a base which is carrying the other flavors along for the ride.

3 Likes