Flavors adverse effect on plastics?

I have some flavors in my stash that have the icon warning of possible damage to plastic components on vape rigs.

Be patient with me, I am NEW to this.

My favorite and most used rig uses a plastic pod. Now, with that being said, the several flavors would be a very small amount of the mix. And, not all the flavors in every mix would have the adverse chemical(s).

Should I be concerned that my rig is going to fail/leak when I use those flavors? It seems like a lot of vanillas, and Bavarian cremes and several fruits have the warning. Looks like my stash has less than 10% with the warning.

Thanks RK

6 Likes

It depends. I know I cannot use cinnamon in a glass tank, it will shatter. There are just some flavors that can destroy tanks.

4 Likes

Not all plastics are alike, but there’s reason for concern. I personally wouldn’t want to get dissolved plastic in my vape juice or that a pod/tank starts leaking at the most inconvenient moment…
If you want to be sure, use an old pod and put a few drops of flavor on the plastic to see what happens.

4 Likes

That is crazy that Cinnamon will shatter the glass.

4 Likes

When you put it like that… i will err on the conservative side. No warning labels in plastic.
Thanks for the insight!!!

4 Likes

I have only used glass/stainless tanks and never had a problem. I am surprised by your statement, as both these materials are incredibly inert.
Any particular cinnamon?

6 Likes

The falling-down-the-stairs kind :crazy_face:

5 Likes

A cinnamon red hot.

4 Likes

For what it may possibly be worth regarding reactivity - this statement (published in 2019):

cinnamon flavors, which are … known to rapidly etch plastic tanks, indicative of its reactivity.