Heating process

hello people!

just about to buy some equipment for making better DIY’s… i don’t know how this thing called in english - you put your jar on this machine and it heats and mixes at the same time, have seen it in the store where chemists buy their equipment … anyone had dealed with something like that here for sure … any good?

1. which temperature is good for “hot bath”?

2. are there flavors that are destroyed by heating process?

1 Like

Mabey this thread might help you.

2 Likes

It would either be a heated mixing plate or What if refered to as an ultrasonic cleaner.

1 Like

It is called a heat and stir plate and I have been using one for 6 months and would not mix any other way…

I use a “Hotplate Magnetic Stirrer” daily. I have been told as long as you stay below 125 F degrees flavors should not dissipate. I have mixed quite a few batches that way and it has created some killer juice that normally would have to steep a long time. I have since gone back to a more natural method of steeping, but I still heat my mixes on the stirrer. I stay below 100 F degrees now. It helps the stir bar spin more freely.

So here is my suggestion… Mix a recipe at 120 F degrees and mix another at 100 F degrees and let them both steep. Go back and try them and see for yourself which you prefer. When mixing with heat, cap off your container as best you can. I use a rubber glove and cut off a finger to wrap over the container if I am using my Erlenmeyer flasks. I am not sure how I am going to achieve this when my 600ml beaker arrives. I guess I will use a whole glove lol.

2 Likes

As in no heat and just time? [quote=“LordVapor, post:5, topic:47396”]
I have since gone back to a more natural method of steeping
[/quote]

1 Like