Help for the new guy

Hello e-Liquid Recipes community! I am new to the whole making your own e-juice stuff and I wanted to know why my recent batches of 3mg have been killing the back of my throat and near making me want to puke. I have been using Liquid Barns starter kit, tried strawberry and banana with 3mg, made me sick. I tried a simple root beer with 3mg, also horrible. But all of the 0mg I have made have been great. What did I do wrong?

1 Like

Oh no! That’s not good… Do you by chance have a nicotine titration kit? Sounds like your “3mg” juice might be higher than you think… Or you could have bad nicotine. Nicotine river sells the kits for about $8 I think. I would recommend not vaping any more of your nicotine until you know it’s the proper strength.

8 Likes

For trouble shooting purposes can you post a link or screenshot of the bad recipe? Is it possible you miscalculated the amount of nicotine you put in?

8 Likes

Or he did not shake the heck out of the Nic and got hot spots

9 Likes

Hi there, I’m new to this too, but from what I’ve gathered, we may need more information. What is your PG/VG ratio? PG can give a throat hit, so if it’s high, that could be part of it, but not likely given that your 0mg nic mixes are ok. Also, making sure to shake your finished mix very thoroughly is a factor, so you don’t get nicotine hot-spots, highly concentrated portions of the liquid that can be mostly nic. How long are you letting it sit before trying it? Hope this helps, I’m sure some veteran mixers will jump in here and give more educated responses. Cheers!

6 Likes

Yes good point. That could definitely cause problems.

4 Likes

Nice! You two jumped in while I was typing mine :slight_smile: it looked like I was the first to respond. Glad to see I’m not giving out bad advice!

6 Likes

Nicotine juice 48 mg (100% VG)
1.88g
PG dilutant
10.5g
VG dilutant
13.12g
Banana (LB)
2.1g
Strawberry (LB)
2.4g
Well here it is then.