Mech Advice - total newbie needs help

I know many of you are Mech aficionados and have recommended mechs to me before (and I have balked each time). But I’m finally ready to give in and try a Mech Squonker (or maybe a Clickset or Mosfet), whichever you think would best intro me to the scary, scary world of non-regulated mods. :wink:

I’m looking for something cheap (and dependable, of course) to start out with. It would also have to be small since I’m not having the best of luck finding affordable small regulated Squonk mods.

To give you an idea of what I’d like in a mod, I like the squonk/fire arrangement of the Topside 90W. The Pulse v2 makes me shift things around in my hand to squonk and fire.

4 Likes

While not a traditional Mech, it has a clickfet with haptic feedback and is one of my favourite squonkers I’ve come across. The EVM by Estoque out of Malaysia…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Vw6NAEh0GQ

It’s a beaut, a little spendy but build quality is second to none, 10ml capacity, 18650 and very small… Such a treat to use.

6 Likes

That’s a nice squonk :fire:

4 Likes

I can’t help much as I don’t use mechs anymore. But out of curiosity…you use the term ‘scary’ and I can understand, based on some of the stories out there. But knowing the risk factors what is it about a mech that motivates you to try one?

3 Likes

I was kidding when I said “scary.” If I were truly afraid, I wouldn’t have posted anything. The reason why I asked is because I’ve had a difficult time finding regulated squonkers that are affordable and that I can squonk/fire comfortably. I really love the Topside 90W, but by the time I found out about it, it had been discontinued. I know there are other regulated squonkers out there that would fit my hand, but they’re out of my price range. :slightly_frowning_face: I figure that leaves me with mechs as my remaining option.

4 Likes