Mixing two separate DIY recipes dilution percentages?

Hello, I am new to DIY but have made a few popular recipes from here. One I made was a little too sweet for my tastes.

1. Rocket Puppy RY4 - 50/50 PG/VG and 10% Nicotine.

I also had some SOHO that I was testing as a solo. This was simply SOHO @10%, 50/50 PG VG and 10% nicotine also just to sample the single flavor. It seemed to have a slight bitter note at the end.

I decided to dilute the Rocket Puppy with the SOHO mix I made at a 1:1 Ratio.
It did exactly what I wanted and mellowed out the sweetness and it tasted great.

So, now my question is, does anyone know how I would develop a recipe for this with the correct percentages in a single recipe without making two different recipes and mixing them 1:1?

4 Likes

If I understand the query correctly, you should reduce all percentages to 50%. That is, 5% Soho, and each flavor of the other recipe half the original.
If you have, for example, 50ml of Rocket and you add 50ml of 10% Soho, you have 100ml, and of course Soho is 5%. The other way around, with Rocket, it’s the same.

6 Likes
4 Likes

Gus6, Thanks for the response. Would the nicotine need to be reduced also. I was thinking that the flavor profile would be different from the nicotine since each batch was 10% diluted and then combined the dilution would stay the same?

4 Likes

There it is, just correct the nicotine you use …

2 Likes

The two mixtures are 10% nicotine, so the result is also 10% …

4 Likes

And welcome to the forum…

4 Likes

I use @CosmicTruth’s flavor adjustment calculator;

You can also find a link on the Resources Page :ok_hand:

Oh yeah, and Welcome to ELR @Blarneystone :call_me_hand:

7 Likes

Gus6 and Rocky02852, thank you for the welcome and assistance. This is a great place to learn and everyone seems helpful.
Rocky02852, thanks for the calculator. I will give that a try also. May have some future projects that are not a simple as this one turned out to be.

6 Likes