Please help with tobacco flavors

I’ve been mixing for about 2 years , but never did anything with tobacco flavors,nor do I have any tobacco flavorings in my stash. I would be very grateful for the advice on what flvorings would be good for cigarette, cigar or pipe flavors.

5 Likes

Well this is a rather nebulous topic, so I’ll cover a little but feel free to ask questions and we’ll see where the rabbit-hole goes.

For workhorse tobaccos, I’d suggest using Virginia, Red Burley and Kentucky by Flavorah, along with Soho (FA) and Black for Pipe (Inawera). Those 5 will give you one hell of a basic palate to blend from. Soho is the most versatile of them and can be added to almost any style of blend (I’ve used it in everything apart from meat vapes so far).

When it comes to specifically making a blend to match a tobacco, well that depends on what you’re after: For pipe tobaccos, EMP is worlds away from Black Twist. If you can give me an idea of the kind of pipe tobacco you are after, then I can help. Although, Black for Pipe will add moisture, a little smoke and notes of mature tobacco to a blend and is easier to play with than Lovage Root.

The same issue with variety applies to cigars, though I find that I veer towards Ash Cigar (Molinberry) and Connecticut Shade (FLV) a lot. With both of them being used at 0.15-0.35%

Hope that helps with some basics. Obviously I can help more when you give me more details on the exact style of tobacco your after.

5 Likes

I’m glad someone brought this up. I’ve got someone that wants a tobacco vape, but I don’t vape tobaccos at all, so can’t (won’t!) do any SFTs of the flavors. He’s not too picky, and his palate is definitely not refined. He uses sub-ohm tanks and changes the coils 1-2x a month. (ugh!)

What flavors would you recommend, and what recipe would you suggest for someone that has a fairly difficult time tasting things? (typically orders juice w/ a couple of flavor shots)

3 Likes