SS clapton wire for MTL tanks

Seen some discussion on using Vandyvape superfine wire having bought a number of MTL tanks I am looking g to built some SS clapton coils. Would like to be in the region of 1 ohm but do not think I can fit more than about 7 wraps. Anyone had any experience with building such coils. Have looked at 28 x2 plus 38g but don’t know if this will fit in Ares, Siren 2 and True tanks.

5 Likes

I need to take a look when I get home tonight. I have a tiny baby alien in my ammit mtl rda, it’s the only “mtl” rda I have, and it’s not even mtl. But it’s the one with the smallest deck, which should be close to your siren.

I think I used 30 or 34g for the cores and 38 or 40 for the wrap. I’ll check tonight. I’m new to building my own coils, but my point is, I doubt a 28g will get you close to 1 ohm with ss.

Even my baby alien reads at @0.59 with 6 wraps, 3mm id.

The regular aliens I make are 28 core with 38 and sometimes 40 wrap and only ohm out to 0.40

I do believe but again don’t quote me on that, you would need to use more likely gauges 30-36 to get you as close as possible to 1 ohm, if sticking with SS.

Maybe easier to give kanthal a try if you’re not married to stainless, just because ka1 is already higher in ohms to begin with, in comparison.

I never tried the vandy vape spools, because I don’t trust wires that come out of China but if you’re not worried about that, maybe they sell them in kanthal or you can find a ohm chart for the wires, some vendors do display that with these “ready to go” wires.

4 Likes

Made an error in my question should have said 32g x2 with 38g wrap.

4 Likes

Jim feed in all your variables and it will give you a close estimate for your finished coil

6 Likes

Npt sure about the other 2 but the siren 2 should be fine.
I am using 2 x 30 with a 38 wrap 3mm id and still space fore more. A 2.5 coil of your one should fit for sure and 3 would must likely be fine

3 Likes