Steeping in a sous vide?

Hi, I was wondering if anyone has tried steeping their e-liquid in a sous vide machine. The temperature could be controlled for a long period of time. ( I do beef ribs for 72hours). I also figure this would be the best way to make medicinal flower extracts. Like coffee, or spices. I’m new at this, and having a lot of fun, any advice would be appreciated.

3 Likes

And does anyone have information on making a MF coffee flavour? I could set my sous vide to 205F ( perfect coffee brewing temperature). Doesn’t coffee have oils? is this safe to vape? So many questions!!

A sous vide cooker would be nice to have for my naturally extracted tobacco macerations. I’ve read where certain processes for best results require up to 100 hours around 115 degrees. It would be nice to have exact and infinite control over the cook process. :grinning:

3 Likes

Thyme steams, ginger, basil, everything has a perfect time and temperature. ok, I guess I’ll be doing some research this weekend.

In the mean time send me your machine! I have a pork butt and a rack of ribs I had planned on putting in my smoker around 10pm tonight but they say I may get some rain about 3am…

8 Likes

You could always smoke it until you have to go to bed…at that point take it out, double wrap in foil and cook in the oven at 220f until morning…won’t be as smoky, but you will be eating pork faster.

2 Likes

@James35 is correct. Just power smoke them for a couple hours then double layer wrap them to eliminate ANY air and they will cook in the fat and not steam (air) which will ruin them … time and temp as recommended …best ribs ever.

Temp for coffee? Remember you are doing a water-based extraction and not brewing. In this world the advice is stay under 122 F (50C), so the above mentioned 115 degrees sounds wise (coffee beans slightly cracked in PG) The lower temps might also help prevent that oil extraction problem (don’t want). Be sure to come back and let us know it went!

2 Likes