Steeping? Myth or a must?

I am not a expert mixer by any means!!
I mainly follow established recipes and tweak them to taste!!
However after a few hours…with a lot of shaking… I have yet to find steeping makes a difference. I’ve experimented with steeping and except for nicotine oxidation that darkens the liquid…
The flavoring we use is designed for shelf life in commercial foods…
You never buy a Mountain Dew or Pepsi at the store and say…WOW THAT’S GOOD!! It must have steeped??? Please tell me what you think!! Thanks!!!

2 Likes

Try vape Cap sugar cookie on a shake and vape, then try at 1 month +. Steeping is definitely not a myth, although there are a lot of flavourings out there than can be vaped right away and a steep does very little to it.

12 Likes

I’m not a expert at all. I just want to get the best out of my mixing.
What do you think about steeping and adding fresh nic a few days before vaping???

2 Likes

Some flavors will not change much with a long steep, but others NEED steeping for bringing out or mellow taste. My point in steeping is bringing the flavors together and that happens after 14 days to 1 month, IMO.

8 Likes

I add nic before vaping, I think after a good shake it’ll be good to go, but I normally give it an overnight for good measure.

2 Likes

As far as steep times go, I generally do a few days for harsh fruits (peach in high%, lemon, lime etc), 1+wk if my blend has creams in it, 2+ if it has any custards, and 1month+ for bakeries and tobaccos. For the most part, I consider fruits to be shake an vapes.

2 Likes