Why so Harsh?

Hello, i am new to the DYI e-liquid world.

I’ve reproduced 2 recipes found on the “What can i make” section based on the flavors i had logged in there. I adapted the recipe to make 50ML of each recipe with my nic %. For some reason, both recipes seems to be harsh when vaped. They are both Max VG (some PG from flavors).

Also, it seems like there is barely any flavor to the liquid when vaped. It smells and taste amazing just like that with a drop on the finger but when vaped, i can barely tell what’s in there.

Any tips to make the recipe better and less harsh would be really appreciated.

Link to the adapted recipes:
http://tjek.nu/r/r0HG Danish
http://tjek.nu/r/r0JK BB MUFFIN

3 Likes

Steep time, nic strength, device you are vaping on will all be helpful to finding a solution.

6 Likes

One of the recipes are “Private” but looking at the other, your (imho) not using much percentage wise for the ingredients, if looking at the ingredient list for those items are in the least bit accurate.

5 Likes

I did not really steep it yet. I just wanted to try it quick and see if i like the taste before making a bigger bottle. Would steeping reduce the “harshness” or only help with the flavor?

Mod: Minikin v2
Tank: Crown 3
Coil: 0.25
on 100W

Nic strenght is 3mg

2 Likes

Should i add more of the flavors? As i said i am really new to this, i’ve looked at multiple recipes, they all seemed quite low % and ml’s of the flavors, thought this was enough and well adapted for my 50ML but i could give a try to adding more flavor on my next try if that would help.

3 Likes

In the first recipe I see Cinnamon Danish Swirl. A nice pastry type cinnamon but it does need some steep time to calm the harness of the cinnamon and let the pastry come in. Cinnamon in general can be harsh on the throat.

And hopefully some of us can help you in your DIY journey.