Cooking the Cookie

I have been using RF SC Sugar Cookie and really been enjoying it. Before adding English toffee to it or some other flavor, I really want to hone in on the sugar cookie aspect and get that down, first.

The RF SC Sugar Cookie at 3% is good, but can taste a big doughy. I want to make it taste a bit more cooked rather than dough. I have considered adding a bit of RF SC Shortbread Cookie or perhaps a brown sugar to add the cooked aspect.

I have also heard that adding FA Amber can add a browned/ cooked aspect, but all the recipes I have seen this in are using it in more pie recipes (I think it was @Pro_Vapes who found this to work well).

So how would you go about getting a more cooked taste into something that tastes a bit to much like dough?

2 Likes

I was using INW biscuit in my old sugar cookie recipe, before I got the rf version. Perhaps that could help

5 Likes

Hi,

I am new to mixing stuff together, I only know my stuffs as single flavours, but maybe you want something in there, that gives it a bit of a grainy texture, like Oatmeal Cookie?

But I’ll let the pros hop in on that one :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Caramel could help. Like a teeny teeny bit. I find caramel to make everything a bit burned-ish?

3 Likes

Hmmmmm, I was considering that as well but didn’t wanna give it a caramel taste. From what I remember, FA has that effect. Which caramel do you find tastes best for this and at what percentage?

I was also considering maybe a bit of FW Toasted Marshmallow, but I was thinking it might give more of a burnt than a cooked taste.

2 Likes

Capella. But actually all the caramels (to me anyway) kind of do that. Caramel is a burned sugar.

3 Likes

Welp, I have gone with something pretty straightforward for now, nothing too complex/ special, but it should get the ball rolling for a good Toffee Sugar Cookie.

Toffee Sugar Cookie-

Organic English Toffee, NF- 1.5%
Sugar Cookie, RF SC- 3%
Shortbread Cookie, RF SC- 2.8%