Harsh Vape DIY

Hi all,

I’m new to DIY and experiencing some problems whilst testing my DIY eliquid. I’m getting a harsh Vape from my liquids, it’s not only a throat hit it’s also leaving my mouth dry and making my tongue tingle, which is a little alarming! I’ve read a fair few topics very similar to this and have tried a number of different “fixes” with no prevail.

I’m trying to mix at 6mg strength off of a 72mg (7.2%) nicotine. I originally bought the Nic in PG but after experiencing issues I also bought Nic in VG to see if that made a difference. It didn’t! I am buying from a reputable supplier here in the UK, but to make certain it wasn’t the quality of the Nic I also bought another PG based Nic from another supplier… Still the same problem. My flavours are all from either Capella, TPA/TFA or Flavour West.

While mixing a 10ml bottle at 70VG/30PG here are my numbers:
Nic: 0.83ml PG: 1.17ml VG: 7ml total base: 9ml Flavours combined: 1ml

I use syringes while mixing to get an accurate amount of material needed. If I try to shake and vape, it’s a no no, if I leave it a few days, the juice still hates me and if I leave the juice in a dark box for like 2 weeks, I put it in my tank and it flicks me the finger but not as harsh as the before! Set up wise, I’m using a KangerTech Subtank mini on an Eleaf iStick 30w using a 0.5ohm coil running between 20-25w.

Not sure whats going wrong here. I am “rolling” my nicotine before use and all of my DIY stuff is decanted into amber glass bottles and stored in a cool dark place.

Any thoughts?

Many thanks!

Right off the bat if your attempting to narrow down an issue, I would take one step at a time and separate your possible problem. With the exception of the nic, try vaping your VG without nic or pg just pure vg and see what it’s like. then either do the same with the pg or do a 50/50 pg/vg blend. Lastly do a no flavor blend with your nic and vg. That way your ruling out possible problems with all your bases.

4 Likes