Having taste trouble

I’m new to DIY, and unfortunately, I don’t have very well developed taste buds. Two things that come to mind are vanilla custard recipes having what tastes to me as a "black pepper"aftertaste, and a blue raspberry (single flavor ingredient) that has what I think of as oily taste.

The problem comes in that I don’t really know how to express what I’m tasting, and a lot o of flavors don’t taste the same to me, as they do to others. For example, any type of cantaloupe or watermelon, Taste like cucumber to me.

Is this an issue that taste training of some sort or experience help? Or is my taste palette to screwed up to be any good at this?

1 Like

Quite a few people get that pepper taste from certain flavorings. TFA Vanilla Bean Ice Cream is the first one that comes to mind. There are others but my mind is drawing a blank on which other ones have been brought up. Some people can drop the percentages and that taste goes away, while others can’t use those flavorings at all.
As far as watermelon tasting like cucumber, that’s a new one to me.

2 Likes

@RickCressler You’re actually explaining it pretty good. I know when I first started out, I bought a crap ton of CAP flavors, didn’t know what I wanted to mix, picked out flavors I thought I liked. Shortly thereafter I found that I kept getting an “off note” from CAP Vanilla Custard, French Vanilla and a few others. Hated it, because I LOVE Custards, and Vanilla, but was just something with those CAP (Capella) flavors for me, and not everyone else. I started buying more, and different brands, and found others I could use. I am ACTUALLY currently RE-TESTING the CAP flavors (with new fresh bottles, not my years old bottles) to see if my tastes have changed.