The Flavor Bible

I’ve made mention of this book in previous comments and I know a couple of people have purchased it since then. So I thought I would make a thread for anyone that doesn’t know about this book and may be interested.

This is a GREAT reference guide for pairing flavors and it’s a great way to get some new ideas, you may of not thought of before. I have had this book on my shelf for years and ironically, being a chef I have never actually used it but since I have been making my own juices I have been getting a whole lot of use out of it!

This book is exactly what the title says “The Flavor Bible” basically, flavor matchmaking. It provides a detailed description on almost everything from fruits, Nuts, Breads, Vegetables and more.

For Example;

BLUEBERRIES
Season: Spring-Summer
Taste: Sour-sweet
Botanical Relatives: Huckleberries
Weight: Light
Techniques: Cooked, Raw
Volume: Quiet-Moderate
Tips: Can substitute Huckleberries, Cinnamon with blueberries really intensifies the flavor of the blueberries, blueberries and lemon really go well together, etc etc…

Pairing;A-Z

• Allspice
  • Almonds
  • Apples
  • Apricots
  • Bananas
  • Blackberries
  • Butter/milk
  • Chocolate,White
  • Cinnamon
  • Cinnamon
  • Basil
  • Cloves
  • Cognac
  • Etc, Etc…

That’s just a very brief example because there is A LOT more info than that and also each item is different and may have different information than the next!

It’s a really fun book, especially if you are struggling with idea of what to do with a certain item. Keep in mind this is an actual culinary book not an e-juice flavoring book, so you wont be seeing any UNICORN VOMIT in here :wink:

Amazon link;

There are digital copies of this book as well but it’s much easier to use and navigate the physical book, rather than a digital PDF.

For those of you who want the PDF version, I have uploaded one for all to have :slight_smile: Let me know if you have any questions!!