Any plumbers here?

Randomly random post here, hopefully it won’t be the WORST use of the The Pub. I can do most of the indoor (most) plumbing, but am not 100% on the venting. Starting to get some gurgling in a sink or two and believe my vent may be getting plugged up. I realize what the vent is for, how it works, and why it’s needed. I have two, one on the main stack, and another for plumbing on the other side of the house. I’ve seen some (questionable) YT vids of people just humping up on the roof, jamming a garden hose into the vent pipe, letting it rip, and hoping for the best. I’m sure that COULD work as the water pressure/weight (maybe) forces down any debris, but I’m wondering if it’s just better to run a big snake down it.

Plumbing’s fun, … just as long as you don’t BREAK it…

2 Likes

I worked as a project manager for a commercial plumbing contractor for some time, and I did not stay at a holiday inn express last night.

Assuming your house is built to code, this garden hose business is sound in theory, because the vent should be hitting the drain below the rim of any fixture, and it should be smaller than the drain line size. That said, if you live in a building boom house or if you or a previous owner used unlicensed plumbers, who knows. Suggest you get your old lady to be near the highest fixture on the stack to make sure you dont flood a bathroom. If it doesnt work, the next step is to get a snake machine in there and see if you can get it out that way. Any idea what it could be?

2 Likes

JMak you had me @ " I did NOT stay at a HIE…"

Roger that on the watch out fo leaks bit, makes me feel better. It’s not plugged, but it’s an older house with some cast, lotsa copper, and a smidge of pvc. Think it’s slowly been getting plugged, over time. Might be leaves, stink bugs, who knows, not plugged, but I’d like to make sure it’s wide open, probably help with the “gurgling” in my traps I think.

Thanks for the help @JMak642

1 Like