Arduino or?

Hey y’all, I want to learn electronics and I was gonna get an Arduino starter kit but damn they are kind of expensive.
Amazon has something similar called Elagoo

This is the one I was thinking about. It’s not too expensive if I amn’t smart enough. :rofl:
It says it is compatible with Arduino IDE which I don’t even know what that is.

while roaming the internet I always hear “Arduino” is in everything. Don’t know if that’s true but I kept running across it.

Anyway, any advice would be very appreciated. It doesn’t even have to be the kits I have mentioned. I’m a complete noob.

8 Likes

what does that even do ?

4 Likes

Its some sort of a Raspberry Pi , but more technic based.
It works with inputs and outputs, like i press a button, it becomes digitised sort off, and you use the digital input to control something that is connected on the output.

At home i covered this with a PLC (programmer logic controller) for example, to controll all my lights in my house, they even turn on when i am on holiday for example… , but Arduino has endless possibility’s.

@ Dan i dunno the ELEGOO nor do i have expiriece with Arduino, but i know what i does in responce to Jinx :wink:

5 Likes

Dan, I ended up on an Arduino forum once while googling something in electronics. Maybe your best bet would be to join a forum like that so you can get professional help on the subject.

6 Likes

Arduino is more for robotics and programming. (motors, actuators, IFTT [if this, then that] type stuff, logic handling, etc)

Raspberry Pi is more for ‘compact computing’. (a multitude of options to take the place of a full size computer, where minimal gpu, or extreme cpu intensive functions [video editing etc] are NOT needed)

Are you sure you want/need an Arduino for whatever you’re wanting to do?

Neither of these are going to help you learn components level electronics.