Electric Blanket Steeping Method

So I’m new to this site, I’ve been DIYing for the last 2 years. I’m trying a new steeping method (I think) using an electric blanket (EB). With the EB setting on 3 (highest), I lay the bottles laterally under the duvet with a pillow ontop of the duvet where the bottles are for an hour in total. After the first 30 minutes I remove the bottles give them a quick shake for ±15 seconds and then I place back under the duvet but on the opposite side of the bottles (flipping them over). When the hour is done, I remove, uncap and allow them to breathe for 20 minutes. Then I cap them, shake them individually for ± 2 minutes, repeat the process and place them in consealed place overnight. So far I’ve completed one cycle and on the second cycle now. If you have any advice/suggestions/tips please drop them below✌🏽

4 Likes

In my knowledge, uncapping a bottle while steeping would lose me some volatile molecules from flavors, @Cammykins . CMIIW Please.
Have you tried it without uncapping the bottles? Warm it up, shake hard, and left alone for a time period.

7 Likes
7 Likes

Hello and welcome!

That sounds like a lot of process! I’m a shake well and leave it in the dark kind of mixer. I do this for recipes I test all along the first couple of week’s steep, that make the cut. Then I make a fresh bottle of the winners and just shake and forget for 2-4 weeks.

My thoughts on your process are that if it works for you, awesome! It does seem more tedious than necessary, but that’s just me.

What I’m interested in is your results. How do the recipes taste after this overnight process? Do you consider them steeped? Have you tried making identical bottles letting one just sit overnight then compare it to the one that got the heat treatment and sat overnight?

I know heat and nicotine don’t like each other. Are you adding nic?