Has anyone went through this?

As most everyone of my family here knows i got in a bad motorcycle wreck in april of last year. I had a metal plate put in my shoulder, titanium lol. Now as of today they are puttung a titanium plate in my neck and fusing c4 c5 c6 c7 togeather. Has anyone gone through this. And if you did. Was it worth it ?

5 Likes

I’ve no experience with this, but I wish you all the best, brother - and a swift and painless recovery!

4 Likes

Thank you brother

1 Like

I have personally known the pain ,as I have herniated discs at c4,c,5,c,6,a c,7 as well as chiari malformation of the cerebellum. I wonder if I will have to eventually get a spinal fusion as well. I know that there is different approaches ( going in anterior - throat ) or posterior through the back and seems like the most successful approach is anterior with healing time and not getting the spinal nerves involved. I wish you well and a speedy recovery. Physical therapy has helped my pain immensely.

6 Likes

I broke my neck in 2008 at c6 and c7. I’ve had both vertebrae removed and a cage connected to c5 and c8, bone graft from the right hip to infill the cage with my own bone. Butterss plates front and back for support.
I had no option to have this done because at that stage they gave me 4 mts to live.
However it’s now 2016 and I’m still here. A little worse for wear but still here. It was very painful,especially the hypersensitivity, but you get there in the end.
I really wish you luck, because i kinda have an idea of what your about to go through, and it’s not nice.
So best of luck my friend and i hope all ends well for you. :pray:

7 Likes

I havent but i wish you the best. The doctors have wanted to fuse a couple of mine and i have refused simply because i hate doctors and their witchcraft. I blew out my knee around 11 years ago and had a replacement and since then have had 6 more surgeries on it, I dont want to do through that in my neck.

I hope for the best outcome for you!