Hot water steeping and nicotine…

I’m pretty new to this diy juice thing. I’ve made some decent tasting stuff that I’ve enjoyed but that was at 0mg. I’ve made some 6-8mg versions of them too but they always turn out very harsh. Then I read that nic doesn’t do well if you put it in and hot water steep which is what I’ve been doing. Anybody know if there’s any truth to that? Should I put the nic in after steeping?

What brand of nicotine are you using?

J

I don’t have it in front of me but I think I got it at myfreedomsmokes.com

Personally I don’t hot water steep but from what I’ve read hot water steeping only reduces Nic % slightly.

0% Nic juice will taste differently than Nic juice.

Steeping should be done as a whole mix otherwise steeping needs to be done again once it’s added.

J

2 Likes

I agree with this. I keep my nic in the freezer after i break it down to 30ml bottles. I take out what i need and let it come to room temp then shake the shit out of it as it is VG based, this is very important. I pour the exact amount of VG i require for my mixes into a beaker and put it on a coffee mug warmer while i mix everything else up. This just makes for easier measuring. When i finalize my product i put it into an ultrasonic cleaner for about an hour, this helps to mix the ingredients. Then i shake and put it in my curing box for however long is necessary.

There is no substitute for curing your liquids with time. Ive tried all the different speed curing methods and time is the best.

4 Likes

The harshness is from the nic. You might want to get some fresh nic. If you just bought it, then I’d suggest a different vendor. I’ve had bad (peppery) nic from e-liq. com and from wizard labs. Never bought from myfreedomsmokes. I’ve purchased good nicotine from Heartland and from nude nic.

1 Like

Yeah it’s kinda peppery. I’ll try a dif vendor. Nude nic?

1 Like

yes…
http://www.nudenicotine.com/

Cool thanks. I’ll try them. What’s the mg that most people get?