How do I get a cooked effect on fruits ie, pineapple upside down cake

I’m curious as to how to get the effect of a cooked fruit like pineapple upsidedown cake. I saw amber is used to create a cider effect on apple . is there a flavoring I should use to " cook" pineapple and other fruits.

1 Like

I have zero experience with this but I do a lot of research and reading on flavors since I’m still pretty new to this. However, in my travels, I do remember reading (on more than one occasion) where people were trying to add bacon flavoring for a “cooked” undertone. I think there’s a “smoked” flavor too but can’t remember where I saw it. Not sure that helps but it might get ya headed in the right direction.

1 Like

I was thinking liquid amber as well. Also may try Joy FA at a small percentage if you have it ? Or possibly biscuit INW small % as well. Bacon lol I guess that would add some smoked flavor in there. I vaped it once and it was so stinky. What about a toasted effect…toasted marshmallow, toasted almond ? There are a few good upsidedown pineapple cakes on the site. I make one with blackberry.

uP siDe dOwnCakE BlaCkBerry aPple

Ingredient %
Blackberry (LA) 4
Brown Sugar Extra (TPA) 0.4
Cake (Yellow) (FW) 1
Cream Fresh (FA) 0.8
Dulce de Leche (TPA) 0.3
Fuji Apple (FA) 1.5
Meringue (FA) 1.5
Pie Crust (TPA) 1.5

Flavor total: 11%

Remember to rate it at e-liquid-recipes.com!

Just some ideas !

4 Likes

This looks like the perfect question for @DarthVapor
Very interesting to say the least. I recently made a juice - Baked Apples. I didn’t find the flavor to be missing any cooked taste. Really it just tastes like baked apples.

3 Likes

I have been thinking on this …in cooking when you make an upside down cake of any type its so that you achieve direct contact to the pot or pan with the fruit / sauce, to caramelize the sugars in said fruit/ sauce. Would Carmel give that effect?