Making your own VG?

Caution! Very possibly a stupid question, but… is anyone here making their own VG?

Can it be done ‘at home’ in a way that’s pure enough and safe to vape?

5 Likes

Frankly I don’t see the point in even trying to make it at home: It would take a lot of effort and time to make an inferior product. I could spend that time cooking and just spend £18 for 10l of VG being sent by next day courier.

11 Likes

I think the safest to vape is pharmaceutical grade, impossible to get at home … And as Squirrel says, for the price it’s not worth it.

8 Likes

Just when you thought you had heard everything… :roll_eyes:

11 Likes

No.
/end of msg

10 Likes

Might be possible, but wont be safe to vape.

6 Likes

Thanks for being gentle @SquirrelSmash. I can see you’re based in the UK; same here.
I’m new to DIY, PG-sensitive and hence a little paranoid about the purity of what I inhale. At the moment I only vape organic 100% VG juice, which is relatively pricey. DIY is my best chance to bring the cost down in the long run, and I want to do it without compromising on the quality. I’ve spent the last few days searching the web for a reliable UK source of organic, pharma grade, non-GMO, palm free VG, and I’m still not convinced by what I find. To the point that I’ve started asking some stupid questions, wanting to take matters in my own hands, if need be. :laughing:

I think a hint or two from an eccentric vape blender and wizard is exactly what I need right now.

6 Likes

1st: Stop looking for “organic”.
(That’s basically marketing for suckers in direct relation to VG)

Here’s the deal.
There are basically only 2 varieties of vegetable glycerin:

• plant based (anything under this could be labeled organic, which IMO is bullshit, since all of the points of origin are plants. YMMV)

• petroleum based. (most avoid this because it’s synthetic)

Petroleum based is what many of us don’t want. It’s typically harsher, and has been reported to ‘color a mix’.