Mixing techniques

Stumbled (again, but this time i read it till the end…) on the FA UK mixing technique page:

https://www.flavourart.co.uk/recipes.html#Mix

We all got our own mixing methods, mine basically is get your flavours mix all the PG based ingredients, PG/Nic/Flavs, shake, add VG at the end shake again, quick test, take notes for any additions I might have to do next time and put it away to steep, fairly straight forward.

Now (but it’s not the first time and I’ve seen this before) looking at the way FA UK does it, what they say is, to keep it short, create a stone and once steeped, add it to your PG/VG mix, shake and vape…

Need your opinion on this, I’m not a professional, they are and they know what they’re doing,but this just clashes with my beliefs and knowledge…

1. Creating a stone? That I understand.
  2. Steep it first, that I understand (not completely but I could…if forced to)
  3. Mix it with your base at 5% I understand it if I look at it as a stone, but due to my limited brain cells count, we’re introducing a variable and not an easy one to cope with… everything @5%??
  4. Mix it with your base and S&V that, definitely I don’t understand. please help!

1 - Not even an issue, we all know what creating a stone means.

2 - Steeping a mix, practically creating your own flavour (aka… One Shot) and let the compounds mix together.

3 - +/- 5% and suite to taste… here we go and introducing a variable, we’re assuming that the percentages we used in the first place were correct and didn’t need any change, thing that I do very often, last time I did it using MOB Sweet Liquorice on a lozenge recipe I made, had to double the quantities the mix was unbalanced, back to the drawing board… increasing the hypothetical 5% wouldn’t have helped.
Of course I did SFT…… Always one, isn’t there? cit. Monty Python…