Nervous as heck RTA

Hello all. I am diving into new waters for me. I just purchased the WOTOFO Bravo RTA. I am nervous as all heck. I have been vaping for many years now and I always used the coils that came with the unit… The manufacturer provides coils we can use and are almost always 0.15 resistance and I run my mods at 320 degrees. I did just purchase some pre-made coils that are between
0.3 - 0.8 ohm and they are all SS. My question is, if I use the coils (which are all over 0.15 hom is there any danger is causing the battery to blow up? My unit is the WOTOFO Bravo RTA, Please help as I cannot use the new tanks until I get this resolved. Thank you all.

4 Likes

What mod u using

4 Likes

In theory, and in my experience…
Since you’re running in TC, you’re probably not using a mech mod, so all of the safety is built in to your mod. As long as your batteries are undamaged and wrapped properly, and your coils are installed properly, you shouldn’t have any issues. You might need to adjust your wattage and maybe temp if the vape is unsatisfactory. Ramp-up time could be different given the change in coil mass. Try it as-is first.

6 Likes

The resistance of the coils you a going to use should be higher or the same as the ones you have been using so they should put less/the same stress on the batteries.

I assume your quoted Ohm reading is per coil?

In which case when you put them into the dual coil RTA you total ohms will halve so
2x .3 coils should read around the .15 ohm mark
2x .8 coils should come out at around the .4 mark

While @Plunderdrum correctly states that the mod should handle most of the safety it is always good practice to make sure you are not going to overtax your batteries JIC you accidentally switch to bypass mode or something.

So with that in mind fit your coils and measure the resistance feed the details into an Ohms Law calculator.