New Ipv4 Mod

Hey Guys,
Just got my Ipv4 and I must say that I like it very much, I am having an issue with it in Joule mode.
When I hit the fire button “Short” comes up on the screen. Can anyone comment on this or have
had the same issue. Is there a firmware update that I need…?

What’s the resistance of your build? And you did build it with pure nickel wire, right? :smile:

1 Like

Mine just left Cali so Im real curious to see the answer here??

Well that would do it, I was unaware that I needed to.
I am new to the temp control thing, is there a wire that you would recommend to use.
I normally keep my builds around .4-.6 or so.

You need Ni200 or any pure nickel wire - You’re probably gonna build around 0.15-0.25ohm with nickel, get some thicker wire like 28 or 30 AWG, they’re easier to work with. Some of the other users here are have experience building with nickel wire :slight_smile:

@Jimk, @NewDrip and @MixedUp1 are some with temperature controlled mods IIRC :smile:

3 Likes

So are the engineers and manufacturers of these devices, so don’t feel too alone in your process!

1 Like
3 Likes

Ha…Well that does make me feel a little bit better.
I guess I will be picking up some wire on my way home, I am really glad that it was my fault and not my mod.
Thank you daath and Jimk for getting me squared away.

1 Like

Whewwwww that’s a close one I don’t mind being a test dummy but that would have been disappointing…

I did a single coil build in my Lemo 2 with 26g Ni200, 12 wraps 3mm ID and it came out @ .26 ohm. You may be able to get .4 with a thinner gauge wire with a similar build. The bigger coil, the higher the ohms.

2 Likes

I have no previous experience with this wire so that is what I will do. I have seen the builds that you have done in the past and I must say they are very impressive. Is another type of wire called Nichrome which I am assuming is Nickel chromium.
Is Ni200 the same stuff…?

1 Like