Newbie question

Hey everyone,

Im just a newbie in diy, i made my first mixes ( all singleflavor) with 70/30, 6mg and 7% flavor to see how it comes out.
In my opinion they are a bit harsh in the throat.

My question is, what can it be or what i do wrong???

Thanks in advance

7 Likes

Hello @GunGun how are you tonight? I’m a also a newbie but I do have some suggestions for you to try. #1. lower your percentages for sure I’d try to start sf (single flavor) testing around 2% depending on the flavor. 7% that’s way too high!
#2 try to lower your nicotine percentages. I know for me 6% is too high. Idky I vape 6% commercial juice. I just can’t do 6 in diy I always do 3%nicotine because idk if it’s just me but the nicotine is so fresh I find it too harsh at 6% and way too strong. Hope this helps and welcome to ELR.
BTW If you need any help with anything just let me know… I’ll try my best Happy Mixing

8 Likes

Welcome and glad you joined.
Your problem could result from many combination causes or a single cause . Some remedies have been mentioned. My first recommendation of this type is to try to vape by eliminating all possible causes first. Could try vaping VG only and see if the harshness goes away. If is does, suspect PG intolerance and/or ohms/high heat problem. If it does not go a way, VG intolerance and/or ohms/high heat problem. If PG/VG ok then add nic and check. I left out a few steps but you get the idea. Test by process of elimination. Could read through these:
https://www.vapewild.com/blog/what-wattage-should-you-vape-at-how-to-decide-on-watts/

https://www.ecigarettedirect.co.uk/ashtray-blog/2017/02/vapers-pg-allergy-sensitivity.html

https://www.reddit.com/comments/4pfisc

7 Likes

I vape since 10 months, always 70/30 mixes with 6mg…im just wondering why my diy tests are so different
Can it be the steep time???

5 Likes

That would be a definite reason. You are steeping, right?

6 Likes

Thanks, then i think i should try to lower the nic.