Ohms vs Wattage vs Temp

Hi Vapers,

I am a newbie with 4 months in this. I have learned to wick and coil from the forum here and also from watching YouTube.

So far I’ve build single coils, dual coils , contact coils and even space coils.
My build coils range from 0.2 to 1 ohm. I have so far been selecting wattage for my vape base on flavor and how hot I want.

My question is :
Is there a safety guideline or a technical table that I have to follow for the wattage because I don’t want to regret doing something naïve.
Same goes for Temperature mode.

Would be very grateful for inputs from you folks.

2 Likes

I usually adjust my wattage to match my vaping preference and try to keep the voltage to under 4v.

3 Likes

I agree back in the old days the rule of thumb was 4 volts. You can start lower at say 3.5 volts but usually a good vape is around 3.8 to 4.2 volts

4 Likes

This is old but it explains well
https://youtu.be/UZZpLhtNpnA

3 Likes

Always start low and work ur way up , is a good rule i learned in the beginning.

No matter if in vv vw or temp starting low and working up will work much better than the other way around! :grin:

5 Likes

Hi Guys,
Thank you for the feed back. I have a coil build with SS 316L - 28 AWG - 9 loops - 2.5mm ID and the ohms came to be 0.92. In order that I keep it to 4 Volts and below, I can only vape it at max of 18 Watts. It will be too cool a vape without much flavor.
I found that in order that I am satisfied with the vape , I need to vape it at 28 Watts and the wattage would be at 5.08 volts.
Dopes that mean that I have to build a coil that suit my satisfaction? My above coil at 0.92ohms is considered a wrong build coil?
Appreciate feed back!!

Cheers.

2 Likes

This build is Correct according to Steam Engine. What Mod are you using ?

1 Like