PLEX... anyone?

Does anyone have a Plex setup?. Maybe we can discuss Plex setups here as I’m fairly new to Plex and can use some ideas about various setups.

4 Likes

Reserved for OP.

2 Likes

I am much more familiar with plex’s competitor emby - but what set up are you talking about actual software setup or storage setup or just general information?

2 Likes

Software and storage… I never heard of emby… I’ll Google and read up on it.

As far as plex go I’m pretty much all in, but I had issues streaming 4k movies. I’ve since ordered a new PC with the speed to transcode 4k on the fly. I’m also setting up a nas as we speak.

3 Likes

I’ve toyed with it a bit but I only know enough to be dangerous. I’m more of a Kodi person myself.

You’ll need a pretty fast Internet connection to stream 4K (I think).

4 Likes

I think I got the at covered… 250 Megabit internet. My home network is 1 gigabit. I’ve seen 4k movies stream at 40 megabytes per second, I think I’ll be good as far as networking though.

3 Likes

Shut up! Who is your provider?

4 Likes

Wow, I would kill for half that speed. I use unraid as it is pretty simple to set up and maintain. Not sure how much storage you are going to run with but I can give you a few tips there.

2 Likes

Comcast aka Xfinity

4 Likes

Just now:

4 Likes

I just bought a Synology NAS 418play and loaded it with 4x8tb Seagate Ironwolfs NAS HDD. I plan on using it for my plex server. They have a software based raid hybrid called SHR. After setup I have 21+ TB storage space…

What is unraid…

4 Likes

Unraid is a cut down unix based nas - it uses software raid.

3 Likes

@Pro_Vapes you just hit the nail on the head. You have to have enough speed (and RAM at times) to be able to decode realtime. As you stated, you’ll know when you haven’t spent enough LOL.

I have a Synology NAS and you can Plex and/or Disk Station. More is typically better with NAS’s (most of the time), so don’t be afraid to not cheap out.