Simple vs Complex

I am fairly new to mixing. I seem to be different than most because I really love a simple mix that just works. I always see people refer to really complex mixes as superior, but those that I keep coming back to are the simple ones with about two to four flavors. Will the complex mixes grow on me, or is this what I like?

6 Likes

At my local vape shop they have a juice they make that flies off the shelves. It has two flavors in it. Strawberry and Watermelon. I must have vaped a couple gallons of it when I started vaping. I still like simple recipes. But I also like complex ones as well. I tend to like juices that taste like something I am familiar with. I have mixed some recipes with 10 flavors that are amazing at achieving the taste of certain pies, candies, etc. Some of these types of flavors it would be hard to recreate without having all of the flavors in the recipe.

8 Likes

There’s nothing whatsoever wrong with a simple mix[quote=“Oleskool1, post:1, topic:41957”]
Will the complex mixes grow on me
[/quote]They might, as you experiment with other flavors. But it really doesnt matter if they dont.
IMO, some of the best recipes out there have 4 or less flavors …& there are some great examples here… How about a threesome ; ) …& if this is what you like, then cool! - DIY is all about finding what works for YOU.
“Less is more” or “KIS” (Keep it simple) are adages that I’m sure a lot of us, myself included, would do well to remember from time to time :wink: …not that there’s anything wrong with a complex mix, however, I have found it can be easy to use flavors unnecessarily.

7 Likes

90% of my creations are 4 flavor blends. I’m a firm believer that 4 total flavors in a blend is just enough to allow creativity yet keeping it simple enough to fine tune your blend without turning it into a chore…

5 Likes