Snap-crackle-pop!

I’m having a lot of snap, crackle, pop, and spitting. As you all know I’m a noob and I’m sure I’m doing something wrong , probably with wicking.
I’m also having dry hits in my Zeus RTA.
I welcome any and all advice and thank you in advance!

9 Likes

I vape a different style, but cotton too loose in the coils does this for me…

14 Likes

@TimWV, @Ianc13 is right, it’s 99% that the cotton is too loose IN the coil.

12 Likes

Sometimes this can happen with too much cotton as well, choke the coil and she will pop before dry hitting. You want that cotton tight enough that it wont pull through with a gentle tug but not so tight you can pull the mod right over or move the coil while tugging the cotton.

Remember cotton will swell up as it get wet, however some of the synthetics wont.

11 Likes

As @Ken_O_Where and @SessionDrummer said, it seems that you need to adjust how you wick.

The dry hits from an RTA are generally due to not feathering the ends enough to have an effective capillary action (I tease the ends each time to maximise the surface area. Just letting a needle to move away from the coils will tease out excess cotton).

Popping can be due to hotspots, the cotton being too tight when feeding through the coil, or being too loose where air-pockets are allowed to wander like uncontained mogwai. If you need to twist the cotton multiple times to run it through the coils, then you are using too much.

10 Likes

Thank you, I will be re-wicking all my RDA and RTA’s today using that guidance.

9 Likes

If the cotton feels to tight or loose when feeding it through your coils, then you know you need to adjust it.

Don’t worry about the questions: we all constantly learn and share here.

9 Likes

Once you get the hang of it will stop. Pull the cotton back and forth to fluff it in the coil and to make sure its snug. If it moves to freely you dont have enough. If it pulls the coils its too tight. So snug with a little resistance is the winner

7 Likes