Starting a vape business in the UK with the TPD....Financial Suicide?

A serious question, I’m in the UK, I’ve been ‘selling’ my own brand of e-liquid now for a while as a kind of hobby / second income, I’ve been vaping for a few years, and was considering taking it a step further to maybe becoming a legitimate business, I am still hearing of people starting their own retail shops even now and I can’t help but think it’s just financial suicide with the TPD now in force and what’s going to happen next year. I just can’t see how these shops can survive with the ridiculous laws looming over them, so I would really appreciate any advice, views on the subject from people in the same boat as me or people in the process of starting out, or even people that already own their own vape business etc, I totally agree that the industry needs regulation but not to the degree that it can’t become a viable business idea for the normal average person?

@Pugs1970 I’ll give you a break and get the convo brewing. The biggest financial risk would be signing a lease on a Brick & Mortar location. As we watch US vape businesses close down you would be hard pressed to get folks here to encourage you to start up and providing legal advice creates liability

I would imagine a bloke who casually sells a few bottles of juice to his friends might discover he has more friends as B&Ms close. Not sure how the Queen feels about all that, but you may find you’re right where you put yourself (purposefully vague).

Visit some local shops and ask about how they feel about their future without telling them about yours. You’ll get better anecdotal advice from the source with a little finesse …while you try some juices and buy a 30ml. Hey the Wheels of Progress must be greased …but be the wheel not the other

Cheers!

6 Likes

That’s great advice, thanks man :wink: :+1:

2 Likes