Syringe usage question

This is a beginner question I suppose.
The tip of the syringe up to the first line of measurement holds some liquid. How do you deal with that?
When for example you just need 0.1 or 0.2 of liquid, aren’t you in fact getting 0.3, when you include the little bit of liquid in the tip of the syringe, before the liquid even reaches the first line of measurement on the syringe?
I hope I’m making myself clear, English is not my native language :slightly_smiling:

1 Like

In general you only get what’s in the syringe - the liquid that’s in the needle actually stays in the needle. Unless you draw in some air afterwards and then push it out :slightly_smiling:

2 Likes

So what’s the best way to deal with this?
Cause if you let the liquid sit there, and draw the 2nd flavor in the syringe, you’ll have that extra liquid of that first flavor anyway. Which messes up your recipe?
I’m still kind of new to this and few days ago I tried a recipe with a lot of 0.1 and 0.2 quantities. The result was really not good (quite disgusting haha) and I figured perhaps it’s because of the quantities.
I don’t think steeping can turn something this bad into something good?

Ideally you use different syringes for each flavor, or clean your syringe+needle between flavors… I used to have a bowl of water that I drew water from and pushed out a few times.

I’m so happy I don’t have to do this anymore. I cannot recommend enough to start mixing by weight! :slightly_smiling: Try searching here for “by weight” and you’ll get a lot of good experiences and arguments :smiley:

What I like best about mixing by weight is that it’s just super fast, and there is almost zero mess and zero cleanup :slightly_smiling:

It’s easier to mix with small quantities if you’re mixing a larger volume. Mixing a 5ml sampler with small quantities is hard - it’s easier with 10ml and a lot easier with 30ml :slightly_smiling: Again: A good scale is so nice! :smiley:

You’d be surprised :slightly_smiling: