Temp settings for SMOK Alien and Voopoo Drag

I’m struggling a bit with temp settings on these 2 mods and would appreciate some advice. If one of you folks have either of these mods and vape on TC mode, would you kindly share you settings with me and any advice you may feel is useful? The info on the net is a bit contradictory, some sources say that you can only use this mode on Nicro and Ti excluding SS. Others say that SS is fine.

1 Like

I know nothing about VooPoo. I have tried using my Alien a few times and didn’t like the vape in TC.

1 Like

I have no experience with the Drag but the Alien is a non-starter with temp control. I have messed with different materials, builds and TCR settings and it really just doesn’t perform well at all. I have been able to dial in a setting that works well for about a half tank and then suddenly goes to hell. I am not sure but I think it has to do with the way that the Alien reads resistance. I just don’t think it’s accurate and consistent enough to maintain a good temp control experience.

1 Like

That was pretty much my experience too :open_mouth:

This was my experience as well with Wismec and exactly the reason why I spent more than I wanted on a DNA device. I still consider it the best investment in vaping equipment so far. No regrets whatsoever.

Most people here swear by a DNA chipset.

On Wismec/Eleaf devices you can install ArcticFox firmware that makes things a little bit better, but by no means perfect. I’m not aware of something similar for VooPoo or Smok.

1 Like

This probably has to do with the way the resistance of the metal changes with temperature. The resistance of SS doesn’t change a whole lot compared to Ni or Ti, so you will need better hardware to track the differences for TC.

If you use steam-engine.org, you can easily see the difference on the graphs for the different metals.

In my experience the devices below are the best Mid priced TC mods. There may be others that I have not tried though.