The danger (for me) of DIY mixing

Before I state my case, a little background is in order. I’ve been a professional mechanic for 30+ years and my philosophy has always been quality over quantity. I didn’t work well in “job shops” that want you to put out a large volume of work as fast as you can so as soon as I could, I opened my own shop and now do “craftsman” work. I have also accumulated lots of tools, mostly high end Snap On stuff. I have always believed in buying quality tools and enjoy buying cool new tools to do the job better. This is where the danger comes into the picture. When I started to look into DIY and saw all the cool stuff there is out there I got really excited. I started buying beakers and scale, pipettes and bottles, magnetic mixer and stir bars, (who knew there were so many options for stir bars?) nail polish racks for holding the flavors and a label printer for everything that needed labeling. On the testing side I picked up an RDA to use for testing mixes and a Coil Master kit and Japanese cotton to go with it. Now that I’ve tried the RDA I’m looking at squonk mods. Since I’ve done some mixes and now turn my research towards steeping I want an ultrasonic cleaner and have plans to build a bottle rocking device for my mixes. I could go on and on, and that is the danger. DIY is so fun I want to keep accumulating gear! I have to tell myself that I don’t really NEED this or that despite my desire to have it. Does anyone else feel the same way, or is it just me?

16 Likes

The Rabbit Hole

Yes, we as DIYers / Avid Vapers fall in and just cant claw ourselves back out again but it turns out there is a light at the end of that hole…

We learn, yeah you heard right, we learn, everything about vaping, we find what works for us and we create our own formulas / workflows, at first it can seem its neverending but end goals come quick and that knowledge is something that will keep you in good stead for the future.